Tony Bellas

Non-Executive Chair

MBA, BEc, DipEd, FCPA, FAICD, FGS (London)

Tony was appointed as Chair of the Company on 21 October 2011, having served as director since December 2009.  He brings over 30 years of policy and operational experience in the energy industry to the business. Tony was previously CEO of the Seymour Group, one of Queensland’s largest private investment and development companies. Prior to joining the Seymour Group, Tony held the position of CEO of Ergon Energy, a Queensland Government-owned corporation involved in electricity distribution and retailing.  Before that, he was CEO of CS Energy, also a Queensland Government-owned corporation and the State’s largest electricity generation company at that time, operating over 3,500 MW of gas-fired and coal-fired plant at four locations.

Mr Bellas was Chair of the Independent Review Panel appointed in 2012 by the Queensland Government to review the government owned electricity network businesses in Queensland. The panel submitted its report to the Government in December 2012.

Mr Bellas was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 in recognition of his distinguished career in public service. He achieved the position of Deputy Under Treasurer with Queensland Treasury, and in 2000 as an Assistant Under Treasurer, was responsible for the Industry and Energy Division of Queensland Treasury and was heavily involved in formulating the State Government’s energy strategy.

Tony is Chair of five other listed companies; Corporate Travel Management Limited (ASX:CTD), Shine Corporate Ltd (ASX:SHJ), State Gas Limited (ASX:GAS), Novonix Limited (ASX:NVX), and intelliHR Holdings Limited (ASX:IHR). He is also a director of Loch Explorations Pty Ltd, West Bengal Resources (Australia) Pty Ltd and the Endeavour Foundation.

Special Responsibilities

Chair of the Remuneration & Nomination Committee, a member of the Audit & Risk Committee and the Health, Safety, Environment & Sustainability Committee.